The Graduate

Letting them spread their wings begins the moment they leave the protective cocoon they have resided in for nine (but in this case, 9 1/2) months.  The very first breath they breathe is the beginning of independence and doing things for themselves.

In our case, I think Kaitlyn was much easier to “let go” because we knew we had another one coming up.  Even in pregnancy, I cherished and held on to everything I could because I knew it would be the last.  The last foot rolling across my tummy.  The last time my body would be used to help God perform a miracle – the miracle of life.

I didn’t cry the day she went off to Kindergarten – I couldn’t allow myself that when I knew she was so excited to go and experience the world in which her sister had for four years before her.  No, I just couldn’t do it – but, I did mope for a few weeks.  My partner was gone.  There would no longer be the mid day naps giggling and snuggling under the blankets.  There would no longer just be her and I taking off to hang out at the library or going shopping during the day.

My babies are growing up into beautiful, strong, independent girls that are making their own paths, their own way.  Somehow, I was able to hang on to it during this first year of Kindergarten – knowing she still was a “baby”.  But, now, the realization that she truly is a little girl has just hit me like a ton of bricks.  Wasn’t it just yesterday that Kaitlyn was the Kindergartener?  And, now she is moving on to Middle School. 

 

Kaitlyn last summer…Kaitlyn last summer

We hear it when we are children – life goes by so quickly, and yet the truth of that statement isn’t allowed to infilterate, or obstruct our state of mind until we are adults and pass along the same to our own.  Time does go by too quickly.

So, for now, through my cloud of tears – of joy and of sorrow, I must come to terms with, and say goodbye to the fact that my baby really is no longer my baby.  She has officially become my little girl.  Graduate of the 2008 Kindergarten Class.

Leave a Reply

