• Favorite Sites


    Fat Cyclist

    A Story of Survival & Inspiration



    OMSH

  • Been there, done that

  • Stuff About...

  • Pictures

  • RSS The Amish Cook

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Moles, Grubs & Ants

Let’s all together say “eeewwwww”.

Ewww.

Pests come in all shapes and sizes, and though I can’t tolerate most, there are a few that just set me off.  Worms are a big one.  In fact, they are numero uno on my list.  Really, to the point of psycho-therapy needed.  Maybe my brother dangled the little nasties in front of me when I was a kid.   Gardening and having such an issue with worms is almost oxymoronic-ish.

Ants as well sick me right out – mainly because I equate them with filth.  Plus, the little buggers bite.  And, they are just gross. 

You can imagine the sourness I felt whilst tilling the land and seeing grubs, and subsequently Japanese Beetles in the turf.  I squished what I could, but it really wasn’t an “infestation”.  But, I knew we had them.

Yesterday while on my first of four checks of the garden, you can imagine my frustration at seeing Mole tunnels.  Nothing will kill off this baby garden faster.

I contemplated many options and just wound up flooding the holes, then spraying a pesticide.  Greenies may gasp in dismay at me, and that’s alright.  But, I figure I had to get rid of the food source for the moles.  Hopefully this works.  If it doesn’t, I’ll try the beer. 

Leave a comment